Portsmouth Regional Hospital (PRH) accepted 24 new residents to its Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, and Psychiatry residencies recently on what is known in academic medicine as Match Day. The new residents will begin their programs on July 1, 2023.

“Each year, we receive more and more applicants for our residency programs, which demonstrates just how valuable our new program is for our future physicians,” said Dean M. Carucci, market president of HCA New England Healthcare. “This is an especially exciting year as our first class of Family Medicine and Internal Medicine residents will graduate in June, and four of these residents were accepted into our fellowship programs to continue their training. It's well known that the country is facing a shortage of healthcare providers, and we're proud to have stepped up to help train and educate tomorrow's physicians and physician leaders.”

The family and internal medicine residencies, which are both three-year programs, received accreditation in 2020 from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). The first class will graduate this spring. The psychiatry residency's four-year program was accredited by the ACGME in 2021. The first class in the psychiatry residency will graduate in 2025.

The residents come from 22 medical schools, 12 states, and four countries outside the U.S.: Canada, Jordan, India, and Syria. Following are the 24 residents accepted to the program in 2023:

Family Medicine Residency

Charelle Allen, MD, of Brooklyn, New York
St. George's University School of Medicine, Grenada

Samuel Backman, MD, of New Brunswick, Canada
Saba University School of Medicine

Kimberly Bell, DO, of Anaheim, California
Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine

Erik Benotti, DO, of Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Kansas City University, College of Osteopathic Medicine

Anna Byrne, DO, of Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine

Antara Chakraborty, MD, of Kolkata, India
Calcutta National Medical College

Tejas Kumar, MD, of Dallas, Texas
Baylor College of Medicine

Anne Tenser, MD, of Midlothian, Virginia
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine

Internal Medicine Residency

Nmair Alziadin, MD, of Al Karak, Jordan
Mu'tah University, Jordan

Ahmad Behzadpour, MD, of Vancouver, British Columbia
American University of the Caribbean

Samuel Brock, DO, of Rochester, New Hampshire
William Carey University, College of Osteopathic Medicine

Aditya Chhoker, MD, of Haryana, India
Our Lady of Fatima University, College of Medicine, Philippines

Ethan Grey, DO, of Rutland, Vermont
Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine

Michele Guyette, DO, of Woburn, Massachusetts
University of New England, College of Osteopathic Medicine

Tanya Kad, DO, of Ludhiana, Punjab, India
Dayanand Medical College, India

Ranim Katmawi Sabbagh, MD, of Aleppo, Syria
University of Aleppo

Nicholas Stern, MD, of Dunedin, Florida
St. George's University School of Medicine, Grenada

Nagarjun Subash, MD, of Bijapur, India
M.S. Ramaiah Medical College, India

Psychiatry Residency

Jack Bailey, DO, of Charlestown, Rhode Island
Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Tyler Cobb, DO, of Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Lincoln Memorial University DeBusk, College of Osteopathic Medicine

Beatrice Mbaluka, MD, of Cypress, Texas
Loma Linda University School of Medicine

Leah Serunjogi, DO, of Wellesley, Massachusetts
Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine, Virginia Campus

Eren Sipahi, MD, of Spring Lake, Michigan
Michigan State University, College of Human Medicine

William Tindle, MD, of Salisbury, Massachusetts
St. George's University School of Medicine, Grenada